The Greenwich Foot Tunnel runs beneath the river Thames between Greenwich and Island Gardens on the Isle of Dogs.
The tunnel was opened in 1902 and has beautiful glass domed entrances at either end.
We recommend taking the 10 minute walk from the entrance next to Cutty Sark across to Island Gardens. The views back across the Thames of the Old Royal Naval College and the rest of Greenwich are truly stunning!
The foot tunnel is open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. There are spiral staircases and lifts at each end.